As I Read “Jamaica Inn” by Daphne DuMaurier

image005I love Daphne DuMaurier because she wrote Rebecca, which is one of my old favorites. I also used to be really into Gothic novels, so when I picked up Jamaica Inn, I was excited to rediscover a genre I used to love so much. However, as I approach the mid-point of the novel, I keep finding myself reluctant to continue reading it. It’s not the fault of DuMaurier’s writing and it’s not that I don’t like Gothic lit anymore; I still enjoy them both very much. The problem is that before I started the book, I had watched its 2014 BBC adaptation. And it was probably one of the most unbearably terrible things I’ve ever seen on television. As I read the book, I keep inadvertently picturing the seriously miscast actors as the characters, with the memory of their poor performances hurting my impressions of the characters on paper. This has honestly never happened to me before, where a tv show or movie ruins my impression of the superior work it’s based on. It makes me feel pretty bad because I know how talented DuMaurier is and I should be a good enough reader to ignore a bad adaptation while reading a good story. I’m going to try to keep going with it, but I’m going to have to trick myself into doing it.

Leave a Reply

